Peanut Better

27 Jan
Peanut Butter! In a jar!!

Peanut Butter! In a jar!!

We will never buy commercial peanut butter again.

Last January, I was newly pregnant and working the night shift reorganizing the store and was constantly in need of protein-filled snacks. We had a 30% discount on items in the snack aisle, so I bought myself the biggest container of honey roasted peanuts we had. Which is pretty big. I wanna say it was a full pound of peanuts. Which was more than I could eat in the time I was working there, and then it sat in our pantry at home as I got paranoid about fetuses and allergens, and then babies and allergens.

And then finally, I got tired of looking at it, stumbled on this blog post, and figured it was time to get rid of the giant pantry-hog.

Which brings us to our year-old tub of peanuts which turned into this magnificent jar of peanut butter, with a slightly stale flavor.

Okay, look, I know store-bought is better than stale, but I can see the potential in this peanut butter. Which is why I added oil, to replace the oil that had staled out (am I making up words again? I am). And then I added cinnamon and a little extra honey (which was crystallized from age) because I am just that decadent. And then we spread it on stale wheat thins and ate them. Because that is the state of our pantry.

So I guess what I’m saying is that this is a recipe for turning stale pantry items into something edible.

 

DAIRY SUBSTITUTIONS:

None. It’s peanut butter. However, if you have a peanut allergy, you should probably not make this. Also, you should probably never eat anything from my kitchen.

Helpfully, MOMs even sells their peanuts with peanut butter in mind.

Helpfully, MOMs even sells their peanuts with peanut butter in mind.

THE RECIPE:

Put peanuts in the food processor.

Step 1: Put peanuts in the food processor.

Put peanuts in food processor. Turn on. Turn off periodically to keep motor from overheating. Keep processing.

Step 2: Keep going... I know, it looks like it isn't going to work. Trust me.

Step 2: Keep going… I know, it looks like it isn’t going to work. Trust me.

Maybe throw some flavors in that thing. Keep processing. Look! You made peanut butter!

Step 3: Peanut Butter!

Step 3: Peanut Butter!

 

One Response to “Peanut Better”

  1. Averie @ Averie Cooks January 27, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    So glad you got rid of the giant pantry-hog and in the process, made PB! Thanks for linking up to my post!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

